Install SharePoint 2010 on a standard alone machine

Few days ago, I started to build a demo environment, with SQL Server 2008 R2 and SharePoint 2010, all the latest software. When I start configuring SharePoint with Configuration Wizard, it refused to create a new farm because the service ID I provided was not  a domain ID. The error messsage looks like “The specified user neilhw2k8r2\administrator is a local account. Local accounts should only be used in stand alone mode.

Seems I have to choose between install a domain controller first, or install another one SQL Server Express instance. But I believed the power of Google, so I started google again. Finally I got the command here.

New-SPConfigurationDatabase –DatabaseName “SPConfig” –DatabaseServer “vm-demo” –AdministrationContentDatabaseName “SPAdminContent” –Passphrase (ConvertTo-SecureString “P@ssw0rd” –AsPlaintext –Force) –FarmCredentials (Get-Credential)

Please also note that PowerShell will popup a window to reuqest for one time login. Just key in user name and password of farm admin account.

Here is the magical post that I got the answer. Provision a new SharePoint farm with PowerShell. I think I shall save the link here for future.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ekraus/archive/2009/11/06/sharepoint-2010-provisioning-a-new-farm-with-powershell.aspx

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

